Sprout salad… nutritious and yummm!

Since I started laying the path towards a fit and healthy lifestyle a few major changes I am trying to make is in my food habits. Being a foodie I just need everything to be tasty whether it is good for my health or not. I have no cooking facilities in my hostel and so I end up eating out for almost all the meals. I try having cereals, fruits and salads which I can prepare with minimal ingredients and minimal work. So for dinner I wanted to cut down or carbs and substitute it with proteins which are not only from animal sources. So today I gathered  few ingredients and decided to make a sprout salad which would be rich in proteins and also add a few more benefits to my diet. It was yum! I want to share it with you as a fitness food that you can add into your diet and it will keep you full and satisfied for quite some time.

IMG20160817194952.jpg

All you need is

  • 1 cup mix of green gram and whole Bengal gram
  • half an onion or 4-5 nos shallots
  • 1 medium-sized tomato
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 green chili
  • Chat masala or salt and pepper as per taste
  • Coriander to garnish if needed

How to go about it?

  • Wash and soak the legumes for around 4 hours or more. Drain any excess water or use it for cooking other dishes.
  • Roughly chop the onions and tomato.
  • Slit the green chili into half and chop it finely.
  • Finely chop the coriander.
  • Add all the ingredients except coriander to the bowl having the pulses. Mix well.
  • Garnish with coriander and your dish is ready.

Sprouts are high in protein, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Sprouting grains increases many of the grains’ key nutrients, including B vitamins, vitamin C, folate, fiber, and essential amino acids often lacking in milled grains, such as lysine. These are even very easy to digest. One cup contains roughly 0.7 g of carbohydrates, 1.3 g proteins and 0 fat. Overall it is a perfect diet food that leads to weight loss even while keeping you full.

3 thoughts on “Sprout salad… nutritious and yummm!

  1. Hello,
    Again pleasure to meet you, I have received your email and responded as soon as I got the chance to read it, hope that it will help you to start this journey! Never hesitate to email me, I always try to get back to them within 24 hours. Thank you for taking time to reach out to me and for following my blog page, the support is much appreciated. Have a wonderful day!

    Shay-lon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to reply :). It means a lot! You can reply to me whenever you feel like and whenever you get free I will wait for you replies :). Thanks a lot again. I will keep in touch here on and I hope for the best. Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

